By capability · Ruby pricing
Ruby receptionist pricing 2026: Ruby cost per minute, plans and live chat rates
This is an independent breakdown of what Ruby charges, written by Consultations. We are not Ruby, we do not resell it, and we compete with part of what it does, so treat our arithmetic as a competitor's arithmetic and check it against your own call volume.
Everything below was read directly from the Ruby plans and pricing page on 31 August 2026, and every rate is unchanged from our reading on 30 August. Ruby deserves real credit in a category that mostly hides its numbers. It publishes a full price card, it publishes the feature list attached to that card, and it is the only vendor we have measured whose feature set does not change between tiers. In a market where HIPAA sits behind a 2.9x price jump at Jotform and behind an unpriced add on at Formstack, that is worth saying loudly.
What this page adds is the arithmetic, because per minute pricing hides its real cost behind a unit almost nobody converts. A plan price and a minute allowance are two numbers; the one that matters is what a single working conversation costs, and Ruby does not compute that for you. Consultations is priced flat per firm at a planned $49 to $299 a month and is not purchasable today, which is the commercial position behind our view of metered billing.
One AI conversation · qualifies and books · you get a prepped brief
Pick a profession, watch the brief fill itself
The AI runs the discovery consultation, qualifies the lead, collects details and documents, and books the paid appointment, then hands you a prepped brief.
Intake brief
↑ pick a profession to run the intake
Discovery consultation
liveIntake brief
Qualification
Scored against this firm's intake criteria, with the reasons on the brief.
Appointment
bookedat
Brief ready for
Brief readyLive and interactive · qualified, briefed, and booked
Every lead qualified, briefed, and booked · intake and scheduling, not advice · you own your data
In short
Last updated August 2026
Ruby receptionist pricing, read from the Ruby plans and pricing page on 31 August 2026, is billed per minute rather than per call: $250 a month for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500. That works out to $5.00, $3.95, $3.60 and $3.45 per included minute. Live chat is sold separately at $143, $335 and $520 a month for 10, 30 and 50 chats, or roughly 20 percent less when bundled onto a receptionist plan. The structural fact that makes Ruby unusual is that every plan carries an identical feature set: Ruby states in its own words that the only difference between its plans is the number of minutes and chats, so nothing is gated behind a higher tier. The number Ruby does not publish anywhere is its overage rate, which on a per minute meter is the figure that decides your bill in a busy month.
Works with your calendar
Intake only · never advice
Why it works
What to know before you price Ruby
Billed per minute, not per call
$250 for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200, $1,725 for 500. That is $5.00 down to $3.45 per included minute, so a ten times larger commitment buys a 31 percent discount.
Nothing is gated by tier
Ruby states that the only difference between plans is the number of minutes and chats. Scheduling, bilingual answering, intake, payments, HIPAA services and AI features are on every plan.
The overage rate is not published
Ruby publishes plan prices and allowances but no rate for minutes beyond them, and its own blog does not state one either. On a metered plan that is the number that decides a busy month.
What it handles
Run the intake, qualify the lead, book the appointment
Consultations runs the discovery conversation, asks the right questions, collects the details and documents you need, qualifies the lead, books the paid appointment, and hands you a prepped brief, all in one place.
- See every published Ruby rate in one table
- Convert Ruby minute allowances into a cost per real conversation
- Understand what the feature flat pricing model actually buys you
- Work out where the per minute meter beats per call billing and where it loses
- Price live chat standalone against the bundled rate
- Know which numbers Ruby does not publish before you sign
Verdict
QualifiedDetails collected, lead qualified, and the paid appointment is on your calendar.
Why Consultations
Intake run, lead qualified, appointment booked
Not a calendar link, not a static form, not a separate qualification step. One AI conversation replaces the calendar link plus form plus qualification plus brief, and hands you a prepped client ready for the meeting.
Runs the consultation
The AI runs the discovery conversation, asks the right follow-ups, and collects the details and documents you need before the call.
Qualifies and books
It scores fit against your criteria, qualifies the lead, and books the paid appointment straight onto your calendar.
Intake, not advice
Intake, qualification, scheduling and admin only. Your licensed professionals give the advice. Client data is consented, private, owned and exportable.
What Ruby costs in 2026: the published plans
Read on 31 August 2026, Ruby publishes four virtual receptionist plans and prices all of them, which already puts it ahead of most of US legal software. The plans are $250 a month for 50 receptionist minutes, $395 for 100 minutes, $720 for 200 minutes and $1,725 for 500 minutes. Ruby labels them by fit rather than by name: 50 minutes is described as good for startups, 100 for one person businesses, 200 for small businesses of all kinds and 500 for larger and growing businesses. Above 500 minutes the page stops publishing and asks you to talk to sales.
Divide each plan by its allowance and the cost per included minute is $5.00, $3.95, $3.60 and $3.45. That spread is the first thing worth holding onto, because it is smaller than most buyers expect. Going from the smallest plan to the largest is a ten times increase in commitment and it buys a 31 percent discount per minute. Ruby is not running a steep volume ladder; it is running a fairly flat one, which means there is little pricing reward for buying more than you need.
Live chat is sold as a separate product on its own three step card: $143 a month for 10 chats, $335 for 30 and $520 for 50. Per included chat that is $14.30, $11.17 and $10.40. Add chat onto an existing receptionist plan and the same allowances cost $115, $268 and $416, which Ruby advertises as a 20 percent saving. We checked it: the 30 and 50 chat bundles are exactly 20 percent below the standalone rate, and the 10 chat bundle is 19.6 percent below. The advertised claim is accurate, and the bundled per chat rates come out at $11.50, $8.93 and $8.32.
One caution about the minute allowances. A minute on Ruby is billed in rounded increments rather than in seconds, so short calls are more expensive than the headline rate suggests. Ruby publishes the increment on its own comparison page, and it publishes it twice with two different values, which is covered further down this page because it materially changes what a short call costs.
- Receptionist: $250 for 50 minutes, $5.00 per included minute
- Receptionist: $395 for 100 minutes, $3.95 per included minute
- Receptionist: $720 for 200 minutes, $3.60 per included minute
- Receptionist: $1,725 for 500 minutes, $3.45 per included minute
- Live chat standalone: $143, $335 and $520 for 10, 30 and 50 chats
- Live chat bundled onto a receptionist plan: $115, $268 and $416
Ruby gates nothing by tier, and almost nobody else in this market can say that
The most important thing about Ruby pricing is not a number. Ruby states it in one sentence on its own pricing page: the only difference between its plans is the number of receptionist minutes and chats, meaning you always have access to the same comprehensive set of features at no extra cost. We have priced this category vendor by vendor since July 2026 and Ruby is the only clean exception we have found to the pattern that runs through everything else.
That pattern is worth naming so you can see what Ruby is opting out of. Jotform puts HIPAA compliance behind its Gold plan, which is a 2.9 times jump from the tier below it. Formstack sells HIPAA as an add on with no published price at all, on both of its self serve plans, so there is no rate at which a Formstack buyer can plan to collect protected health information. Clio Grow, the intake product most firms are shopping for, is included on Elite and Elite Work and sold as an add on for Core and Signature. Smith.ai includes intake but caps it at five short questions and prices every question after that. Ruby does none of this.
Ruby is also unusually specific about the fees it does not charge. Its pricing page states there are no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding, setup, customization, or coverage during certain periods. That last clause is the one to notice: it means no after hours, weekend or holiday premium, which is a live cost variable at a large part of the answering service category. Ruby states that number porting is free and that local or toll free number hosting is included.
Two inclusions deserve particular attention because they cost money almost everywhere else. HIPAA compliant services are listed as available on every plan, receptionist and chat alike, with no tier gate and no separate price. And Ruby states that optional AI enhancements are available on all its plans at no extra cost, listing AI powered transcripts, sentiment analysis and AI assisted call flows in the standard feature set. The clean split between a human answering service and an AI one has stopped being clean, and Ruby is charging nothing to blur it.
- Verbatim from Ruby: the only difference between plans is the number of minutes and chats
- No fees for activation, onboarding, setup or customization
- No premium for after hours, weekend or holiday coverage
- HIPAA compliant services listed as available on every plan
- AI transcripts, sentiment analysis and AI assisted call flows at no extra cost
- Scheduling, bilingual answering, intake and payment collection on every plan
The two numbers Ruby does not settle, and why they decide your bill
For a vendor this transparent, there are exactly two gaps, and they happen to sit on the most expensive part of a metered plan.
The first is the overage rate. Ruby publishes four plan prices and four minute allowances and no rate at all for the minutes past them. We checked the pricing page and Ruby own pricing explainers on 31 August 2026 and found no figure. This matters more on Ruby than it would elsewhere, because Ruby has removed every other variable from the decision. When all the features are identical on every tier, sizing the plan is the entire choice you are making, and the cost of getting that choice wrong is the one number you cannot look up. There is a mild irony in it: Ruby own blog criticises competitors for layering overages, weekend fees and holiday fees on top of a plan, and it is right to, but it then leaves its own overage rate unstated.
The second is the billing increment, and here Ruby contradicts itself in a way that is easy to verify. On Ruby own page comparing per minute against per call pricing, the desktop version of its comparison table describes Ruby pricing as per minute, rounded up in 60 second increments. Further down the same page, the stacked version of the identical table describes it as per minute, rounded up in 30 second increments. Both appear on the same URL, read on 31 August 2026.
That is not a nitpick on a per minute meter. Take a 61 second call on the entry plan at $5.00 a minute. Rounded up in 60 second increments it bills as two minutes and costs $10.00. Rounded up in 30 second increments it bills as 1.5 minutes and costs $7.50, which is 25 percent less. Property managers, clinics and firms whose inbound is mostly short calls will hit that difference on nearly every call of the month. Ask Ruby which increment applies to your contract and get the answer in writing before you sign.
- No overage rate published for minutes beyond your allowance
- No minimum contract term published on the pricing page
- Rounding stated as 60 second increments in one table on Ruby own page
- Rounding stated as 30 second increments in the repeated version of that same table
- On a $5.00 minute, that difference is 25 percent of the cost of a 61 second call
What a real intake conversation costs on Ruby, and when per minute wins
The plan price is not the number to compare. A discovery conversation that actually qualifies someone runs five to ten minutes, and on the entry plan at $5.00 a minute that is $25 to $50 per conversation. The $250 allowance holds five to ten of them in a month. On the 500 minute plan at $3.45 a minute the same conversation costs $17.25 to $34.50. Those are the figures to put next to any other vendor quote, and almost no comparison page computes them.
That immediately tells you where the per minute meter wins and where it loses. Ruby is excellent value on short calls: a caller confirming an appointment, asking your opening hours or dialling a wrong number costs you a minute or two rather than a full call charge. Ruby is expensive on long ones, because the meter never stops. Smith.ai, the closest comparison, bills the other way at $10.00, $9.00 and $7.00 per included call regardless of length. Run the crossover and the two models break even at almost exactly two minutes on every tier pairing: $10.00 against $5.00 a minute is 2.0 minutes, $9.00 against $3.60 is 2.5 minutes, $7.00 against $3.45 is 2.0 minutes. Below two minutes Ruby is cheaper; above it, per call billing is.
There is a wrinkle that cuts back toward Ruby, and it is only visible if you have both rate cards in front of you. Smith.ai per call price buys an answered call with up to five short intake questions, and prices nearly everything else separately: extended intake $1.50, booking $1.50, payment $1.00, conflict check $0.50. A fully worked intake call on Smith.ai Starter costs about $16.75 rather than $10.00, which pushes the crossover out to roughly three and a half minutes. Ruby charges nothing for any of those actions. So the honest summary is that Ruby is cheaper for short transactional traffic, Smith.ai is cheaper for long conversations, and Ruby wins back ground whenever the conversation has to actually do something.
One more thing you can only see with both cards side by side. Ruby own comparison page sets its model against an unnamed column headed Others, and that column matches the current published Smith.ai rate card almost line for line: extended intake at $1.50 for six additional questions then $0.25 each, transfer lines at $15 per line per month, additional CRM integrations at $0.50 per call per integration, bilingual answering at $1.00 per call, payment collection at $1.00 per call, ad tracking lines at $5 per line per month. Seven of the nine rows match Smith.ai published rates exactly. Two do not, and both understate the competitor: Ruby column says the other service offers three simple intake questions for free where Smith.ai now publishes five, and it says the other service is closed after hours and on holidays where Smith.ai publishes 24/7 answering with no after hours premium. Ruby comparison is largely accurate and worth reading, but check those two rows yourself rather than taking them from either of us.
- A five to ten minute conversation costs $25 to $50 on the entry plan
- The same conversation costs $17.25 to $34.50 on the 500 minute plan
- The $250 plan holds roughly five to ten real intake conversations a month
- Ruby per minute and Smith.ai per call break even at about two minutes
- At Smith.ai fully loaded intake rate the crossover moves out to about 3.5 minutes
- Ruby charges nothing for booking, payments, intake depth or bilingual answering
Honest comparison
Every published Ruby rate, read from the Ruby plans and pricing page on 31 August 2026
Ruby publishes a complete price card and the full feature list that goes with it. This is that card, with the per included minute and per included chat arithmetic added by us. Items marked as not published are genuinely absent from the page rather than summarised.
| Item | Published price | Included | Cost per included unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receptionist, 50 minutes | $250 a month | 50 receptionist minutes | $5.00 a minute |
| Receptionist, 100 minutes | $395 a month | 100 receptionist minutes | $3.95 a minute |
| Receptionist, 200 minutes | $720 a month | 200 receptionist minutes | $3.60 a minute |
| Receptionist, 500 minutes | $1,725 a month | 500 receptionist minutes | $3.45 a minute |
| Larger receptionist plans | Not published | Quoted | Ruby states larger offerings exist and asks you to contact it |
| Live chat, 10 chats | $143 a month | 10 managed website chats | $14.30 a chat |
| Live chat, 30 chats | $335 a month | 30 managed website chats | $11.17 a chat |
| Live chat, 50 chats | $520 a month | 50 managed website chats | $10.40 a chat |
| Chat bundled onto a receptionist plan, 10 | $115 a month | 10 chats | $11.50 a chat, 19.6 percent below standalone |
| Chat bundled onto a receptionist plan, 30 | $268 a month | 30 chats | $8.93 a chat, 20.0 percent below standalone |
| Chat bundled onto a receptionist plan, 50 | $416 a month | 50 chats | $8.32 a chat, 20.0 percent below standalone |
| Activation, onboarding, setup, customization | $0 | Included | Ruby states there are no fees for any of these |
| After hours, weekend and holiday coverage | $0 | Included | Stated as no fee for coverage during certain periods |
| Appointment scheduling | $0 | Included on every plan | Not gated by tier |
| Lead qualification and client intake | $0 | Included on every plan | No published cap on the number of questions |
| Bilingual and Spanish call handling | $0 | Stated as available 24/7 | Not gated by tier |
| Payment collection | $0 | Included on every plan | Not gated by tier |
| Outbound call assistance | $0 | Included on every plan | Not gated by tier |
| HIPAA compliant services | $0 | Stated as available | Listed on receptionist, chat and bundled plans alike |
| AI transcripts, sentiment analysis, AI assisted call flows | $0 | Stated as available in all plans | Ruby describes these as optional AI enhancements at no extra cost |
| Local or toll free number hosting and porting | $0 | Included | Ruby states there are no porting fees |
| Integrations | $0 | Included | Ruby advertises more than 5,000 integrations |
| Minutes beyond your allowance | Not published | Not stated | No overage rate appears anywhere on the pricing page |
| Minimum contract term | Not published | Not stated | No term commitment is published on the pricing page |
| Billing increment | Stated two ways | 60 second or 30 second rounding | Both values appear on the same Ruby comparison page |
Every price above was read from the Ruby plans and pricing page on 31 August 2026 and is unchanged from our reading on 30 August 2026. The per included minute and per included chat figures ($5.00, $3.95, $3.60, $3.45 and $14.30, $11.17, $10.40) are ours, derived by dividing each plan price by its allowance; Ruby does not publish them. The bundled chat saving was verified against the standalone card and comes out at 19.6, 20.0 and 20.0 percent against an advertised 20 percent. The two rounding values were both read from the Ruby page comparing per minute and per call pricing on the same date. Consultations is not affiliated with Ruby and competes with part of what it sells; our own pricing is planned launch pricing and is not purchasable today. Rates change, so confirm with Ruby before you buy.
People also ask
Ruby pricing: the questions buyers actually search
How much does Ruby receptionist cost?
Ruby costs $250 a month for 50 receptionist minutes, $395 for 100 minutes, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500, read from the Ruby plans and pricing page on 31 August 2026. Managed website chat is priced separately at $143, $335 and $520 a month for 10, 30 and 50 chats. Every plan carries the same features, so the only thing the price buys is volume.
How much does Ruby cost per minute?
Between $3.45 and $5.00 per included minute, depending on the plan. Dividing each plan price by its allowance gives $5.00 on the 50 minute plan, $3.95 on 100, $3.60 on 200 and $3.45 on 500. Ruby does not publish these figures itself. A ten times larger commitment buys only a 31 percent discount per minute, so there is limited reward for oversizing.
What is included in a Ruby plan?
Everything Ruby sells except more minutes. Ruby states that the only difference between its plans is the number of receptionist minutes and chats. That means 24/7 live answering, appointment scheduling, lead qualification and intake, payment collection, bilingual answering, outbound call assistance, HIPAA compliant services and AI transcripts are on every plan at no extra cost.
Does Ruby charge extra for after hours or weekend calls?
No. Ruby states on its pricing page that there are no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding, setup, customization, or coverage during certain periods, and it lists 24/7 answering including after hours, weekends and holidays in the standard feature set of every plan. That is not universal in the answering category, where after hours premiums are common.
Is Ruby cheaper than Smith.ai?
It depends entirely on call length, and the two models cross over at about two minutes. Ruby bills per minute from $5.00 down to $3.45; Smith.ai bills per call at $10.00, $9.00 and $7.00 included. Below two minutes Ruby is cheaper, above it Smith.ai is. But Smith.ai prices booking, extended intake and payments separately, so on a fully worked intake call the crossover moves out to roughly three and a half minutes.
Is Ruby receptionist worth the cost?
It is worth it if your calls are short, your volume is predictable and you want a real person rather than an AI. At $5.00 a minute on the entry plan a five minute conversation costs $25, so Ruby is expensive for long discovery calls and good value for quick transactional traffic. The feature flat pricing is a genuine advantage: nothing you need later sits behind an upgrade.
Good questions
Questions about Ruby receptionist pricing
Explore more
More ways teams automate client intake with Consultations
Client intake software
One AI conversation that qualifies, intakes, books, and briefs.
Learn moreConsultation booking software
Qualify and prep every lead before they ever hit your calendar.
Learn moreAppointment scheduling software
Scheduling that talks to the lead, qualifies, and preps the meeting.
Learn moreFrom the blog
Go deeper on Ruby receptionist pricing
How Much Does a Receptionist Cost? Hiring vs Answering Services
July 2026 · 8 min read
LegalHow Much Does a Law Firm Answering Service Cost? 2026 Pricing
July 2026 · 9 min read
Answering servicesSmith.ai vs Ruby Receptionists: pricing, cost per call and which is cheaper for a law firm
August 2026 · 8 min read
FundamentalsWhat Is a Legal Answering Service? What It Does for a Law Firm, and What It Cannot Do
July 2026 · 9 min read
Run the intake and book the appointment.
Let the AI run the discovery conversation, qualify the lead, collect the details and documents, book the paid appointment, and hand you a prepped brief. Intake only, never advice, and your client data stays yours.
One AI conversation · qualifies and books · prepped brief in hand · intake only, never advice