Consultations
All articles Pricing

Law Ruler vs Lead Docket pricing and what a personal injury firm commits to before it sees a number

Law Ruler vs Lead Docket pricing, read 21 September 2026: neither publishes a price. Law Ruler bills on an annual term, and Pro lacks source reporting.

By the Consultations team · September 2026 · 7 min read

The Intake Desk
Run intake for

Pick a profession, watch the brief fill itself

The AI runs the discovery consultation, qualifies the lead, collects details and documents, and books the paid appointment, then hands you a prepped brief.

Intake brief

Name
Need
Budget / fit
Timeline
Docs
Verdict

Pick a profession above to run the intake

Discovery consultation

live

Intake brief

Qualification

Scored against this firm's intake criteria, with the reasons on the brief.

Appointment

booked

at

Brief ready for

Brief ready

Live and interactive. Qualified, briefed, and booked.

Every lead qualified, briefed, and booked · intake and scheduling, not advice · you own your data

Run a sample intake · the AI qualifies, books, and hands you a prepped brief

Neither Law Ruler nor Lead Docket publishes a price, so a personal injury firm comparing them has to compare what each one commits you to instead. Read on 21 September 2026, every Law Ruler tier says Contact for Personalized Quote, and the page states that billing is monthly on an annual term, with 15 percent off for prepaying the year and a one time onboarding fee on Pro and Premium. Lead Docket's pricing page is a custom quote form with no figure at all. The useful differences are the user limits, the contract term, which tier unlocks marketing source reporting, and whether you run Filevine.

Law Ruler figures come from lawruler.com/pricing and Lead Docket figures from leaddocket.com/pricing, both read on 21 September 2026. Where a vendor shows no number, we say so rather than estimate one.

Law Ruler vs Lead Docket pricing at a glance

Law RulerLead Docket
Published priceNone. Contact for Personalized Quote on every tierNone. Custom quote form
Named tiersPro, Premium, EnterpriseNot named on the pricing page
Contract termBilled monthly on an annual termNot stated on the pricing page
Annual prepay discount15 percentNot stated
OnboardingOne time fee on Pro and Premium, white glove on EnterpriseNot stated
UsersUp to 3 on Pro and Premium, 10 user minimum on EnterpriseQuoted per firm
Marketing source reportingPremium and Enterprise onlyA core feature
Parent and ecosystemIndependent, West Palm Beach, founded 2013Filevine, with native Filevine sync

How much does Law Ruler cost?

Law Ruler does not publish a dollar figure. What its pricing page does publish is the structure, and the structure tells you a lot. Subscriptions are billed monthly on an annual term, so the monthly invoice sits inside a 12 month commitment. Prepaying the year takes 15 percent off. Pro and Premium each carry a one time onboarding fee, and Enterprise replaces that with white glove setup and a 10 user minimum.

The tier split is where most firms get caught. Pro includes up to 3 users, 10,000 contacts and 3 automations. Two features are marked as not included on Pro: email marketing campaigns and marketing source reporting. Premium keeps the 3 user limit, lifts contacts to 15,000 and automations to 100, and adds both. For a personal injury firm, marketing source reporting is usually the reason to buy a legal CRM in the first place, so the realistic Law Ruler quote to ask for is Premium, not Pro.

You will find dollar figures for Law Ruler on software directories, including a per user starting rate and a fixed onboarding charge. None of them appears on the vendor page, and none of the sites publishing them says when they checked. Use them as questions for the sales call, not as a budget.

How much does Lead Docket cost?

Lead Docket does not publish a price either. Its pricing page, read on 21 September 2026, is a form headed Get a Custom Quote, and the text says the price is tailored to your firm. The page is operated by Filevine, which owns Lead Docket, and the product now leads with LeadsAI: a Lead Viability score on every new lead, AI summaries of lead details and notes, native sync into Filevine and retainer payments collected inside Lead Docket.

We cover the rest of its billing history, and how it compares with CasePeer and Lawmatics, in our Lead Docket pricing breakdown. The short version for this comparison: the number arrives after a demo, and it depends on your firm size and setup.

Which is cheaper for a personal injury firm?

Without published prices nobody can answer that honestly from the outside, and any article that gives you a single winner is guessing. What you can do is make both quotes comparable before you sit down with either sales team. Ask each vendor the same five questions, in writing:

  • What is the monthly price for our exact user count, and what does each additional user cost?
  • Is the term annual, and what happens at renewal if we give notice after the deadline?
  • Is there an onboarding or implementation fee, and is it one time?
  • Is marketing source reporting included in the tier you are quoting?
  • What does data export cost if we leave, and in what format does it come?

The contract question matters more than it looks. Law Ruler's own page says the term is annual. If you are running a trial of intake software in the same year, or expect your intake headcount to change, a 12 month commitment on the wrong tier costs more than any difference in the monthly rate.

Which one fits your firm?

Choose Lead Docket if you run Filevine. Native sync from lead to case, AI Lead Viability scoring and attribution reporting built to show which ad spend produces signed cases are its real strengths, and they are strongest inside the Filevine ecosystem.

Choose Law Ruler if you want marketing automation in the same login. Text, email and voice drip campaigns, a built in softphone, two way SMS, document automation and e-signature sit in one CRM. That suits a firm nurturing leads over weeks or re-engaging old inquiries when a mass tort opens. Budget for Premium if you need source reporting.

If you are weighing Law Ruler against more than one rival, we compare it with Lawmatics, Clio Grow, CasePeer and Jove on one table on our Law Ruler alternative page, with every figure read from the vendor pages.

The cost neither quote covers

Both products are systems for an intake team to work leads. They store the inquiry, route it, remind someone to call and report on where it came from. Neither one answers the person who submits a form at 9:40 on a Saturday night, asks whether they have seen a doctor yet, and decides whether the matter fits your firm. That work still waits for a person, and in personal injury the firm that responds first usually signs the case. We lay out the response time evidence in our piece on speed to lead for law firms.

That gap is the part we build. Consultations runs the intake conversation itself on your website, at any hour: it asks the screening questions your firm defines, checks the answers against your criteria, flags edge cases for an attorney, collects the documents the matter needs and books the consultation. The attorney gets a structured brief before the call. It sits in front of Law Ruler or Lead Docket rather than replacing them, and the completed intake is yours to export into either one. Once a case is signed, the paperwork moves to your drafting team, and an AI assistant for legal practitioners can take some of that load off them too.

Unlike both vendors above, our price is on the page. Solo is $49 a month for one attorney. Practice is $129 for up to five professionals and adds document collection during intake. Firm is $299 for up to twenty and adds voice intake and advanced integrations. Every plan is flat per firm, with no per seat charge and no onboarding fee, and you can pay monthly with no annual term or once a year at half the monthly price. You can run the intake conversation at the top of this page before you speak to anyone, which is more than either quote form lets you do. For the full picture of what intake automation costs across the category, see speed to lead software for law firms.

Frequently asked questions

Does Law Ruler require an annual contract?

Yes, going by its own pricing page. Read on 21 September 2026, it states that subscription pricing is billed monthly on an annual term, so you commit to 12 months even though the invoice arrives monthly. Prepaying the year saves 15 percent. Get the renewal notice period in writing before you sign.

Is Lead Docket only for Filevine firms?

No, but that is where it is strongest. Lead Docket is a Filevine product, and its homepage leads with native Filevine sync, which turns a signed lead into a case without double entry. Firms on other case management systems can use it, and should ask during the demo exactly which integrations they will rely on. If you are weighing the whole Filevine platform rather than its intake product, our Filevine alternative comparison lists what every competitor publishes on price.

Which tier of Law Ruler do personal injury firms need?

Most need Premium. Law Ruler's pricing page marks email marketing campaigns and marketing source reporting as not included on Pro, and those are the two features PI firms running paid media usually buy a CRM for. Premium keeps the same 3 user limit, so firms with more intake staff should ask about Enterprise, which has a 10 user minimum.

Can I try either one before I buy?

Both lead with a demo request rather than a self serve trial on their pricing pages. If you want to see intake automation working before a sales call, the intake conversation at the top of this page runs as it would on your own site.

See how Consultations runs intake for your field on the use cases page.

Run this on your practice

Consultations runs the discovery consultation, qualifies the lead, collects the details and documents, books the paid appointment, and hands you a prepped brief.

Explore features

Run the intake and book the appointment.

Let the AI run the discovery conversation, qualify the lead, collect the details and documents, book the paid appointment, and hand you a prepped brief. Intake only, never advice.

See pricing

One AI conversation · qualifies and books · intake only, never advice